About the Tucker Design Awards

Back to Programs | Tucker Design Awards | About | Tucker Design Awards 2016 | Submission Guidelines | Bybee Prize | Past Events | Past Bybee Winners


Tucker Design Awards

Sponsored by Building Stone Institute, the Tucker Design Awards are recognized as one of the most prestigious architectural design awards. Tucker Design Awards honor those who have achieved excellence in design through the incorporation and innovative use of natural stone in their building or landscape project. The Tucker Design Awards are presented biennially.

The next presentation will be held October 20, 2016 at The Contemporary Arts Center in New Orleans, LASee Current/Next Event for details on the 2016 event.

View Most Recent Tucker Design Award programs (2010, 2012 and 2014) and their winners.

View the History of the Tucker Design Awards


James Daniel Bybee Prize

Since 2001, in honor of the late James Daniel Bybee – a former president of the Building Stone Institute and then president of Bybee Stone Company – this award is presented by the BSI to an individual architect or landscape architect for a body of work executed over time and distinguished by outstanding design and use of natural stone. Past recipients include: Malcolm Holzman, FAIA; M. Paul Friedberg, FASLA; Cesar Pelli, FAIA; Lawrence Halprin, FASLA; Henry N. Cobb, FAIA; Laurie D. Olin, RLA, FASLA; Robert Frasca, FAIA; and Peter Walker, FASLA. See Bybee Prize for highlights of work from the most recent Bybee Prize recipients.


Each Tucker Design Award event utilizes a unique set of jurors who are esteemed members of the design professionals from whom the award submittals are received. Jury members enjoy exposure to work from around the world as well as the challenging role of choosing the winners. Entries typically range from large commercial projects, to private residences, public monuments and private gardens. The winning selection is purely subjective to each jury.

How to Submit

2016 Tucker Design Award Entries Due January 22nd! 

Call for Entry

Entry Form

Submission Guidelines