Past Events

Back to Programs | Tucker Design Awards | About | Tucker Design Awards 2016 | Submission Guidelines | Bybee Prize | Past Events | Past Bybee Winners


 jurors standing with binders

2014 Tucker Design Awards

Click the link above to view the 2014 Tucker Design Awards Page

Esteemed jurors for the 2014 program included Blair Kamin, Architecture Critic for the Chicago Tribune; Duncan G. Stroik, Principal, Duncan G. Stroik Architect, LLC in South Bend, IN; and Peter Lindsay Schaudt, FASLA FAAR, Partner, Hoerr Schaudt Landscape Architects, Chicago, IL.  Our jurors were award presenters at the June 25th event.


2012 Tucker Awards

Missouri Botanical Gardens
St. Louis, Missouri

2012 Jurors

Ripley Rasmus 
Senior Vice President and Director of Design
HOK, St. Louis

Rae Price 
Peridian International
Newport Beach, CA

Peter MacKeith 
Associate Dean-Sam Fox School of Design and Visual Arts
Washington University, St. Louis

Tucker Design Award Sponsors

2012 Tucker Design Award winners


More photos of the event



2010 Tucker Awards

Woolsey Hall, Yale University
New Haven, Connecticut

Download 2010 Program

2010 Jurors

Peter G. Rolland, FASLA, FAAR, Landscape Architect
The founding partner of the firm Rolland/Towers LLC, Site Planners and Landscape Architects, Peter G. Rolland has collaborated closely with many of the nation’s outstanding architects, designers and planners on a wide range of commercial and residential projects and the new Parliament House in Australia. In 35 years of practice, the firm received over 20 National and International Design Awards including The American Society of Landscape Architects 1997 Award of Excellence.

Fred Clarke, FAIA, RIBA, JIASenior Principal – Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
A founding member of the firm, Fred Clarke is Design Principal for all the New Haven studio projects. Over the past 33 years, he has been responsible for commissions with widely varied programs and locations, from San Francisco to Dubai, from Tokyo to Miami. Mr. Clarke has been a faculty member of Yale University, Rice University, and the University of California at Los Angeles. He has chaired design juries and panels for the Urban Land Institute and the American Institute of Architects.

Harold Roth, FAIAPartner – Roth and Moore Architects
Originally from St. Louis, Harold Roth, FAIA, attended Washington University and the Yale School of Architecture. Following military service in the Far East, he joined the office of Eero Saarinen in Michigan, which relocated to New Haven in 1961. In 1965 he joined a new practice focusing on institutional buildings for schools and universities, working at Yale, Vassar, Drew and Connecticut College among others. As a partner at Roth and Moore Architects, his completed work includes the Seeley Mudd Library, Arthur K. Watson Hall, Slifka Center, and 55 Whitney Avenue all at Yale; the Observatory and Fisher Passage at Vassar; Ceraland Recreation Center in Columbus, Indiana; the Academic Arts Center at Drew University in Madison, New Jersey; the Sally Hart Lodge at the Choate School and the Temple Street mixed-use project in Hartford, Connecticut.


Tucker Design Award Jurors beginning 1977 through 2014

2014 Peter L. Schaudt, FASLA • Duncan G. Stroik • Blair Kamin
2012 Rae Price, FASLA • Ripley Rasmus • Peter MacKeith
2010 Peter Rolland, FASLA • Fred Clarke, FAIA • Harold Roth, FAIA
 Randall C. Gideon, FAIA • Lance Melton, AIA
2006 Gordon H. Chong, FAIA • Richard Macias, ASLA
2004 James L. Nagle, FAIA • Peter Lindsay Schaudt, FAAR, ASLA • Randolph E. Guillot, AIA
2002 Marvin Malecha, FAIA • Leslie N. Boney, FAIA • Thomas Balsley, FASLA
2000 Robert A. Ivy, FAIA • James R. Morter, FAIA • Barry W. Starke, FASLA
1998 Richard Bergmann, FAIA • Bradford White Fiske, AIA • Harold Roth, FAIA
1996 Stanley Tigerman, FAIA • Charles A. Linn, AIA • Frances Halsband, FAIA
1994 Frank Richian, AIA • Alan Goldberg, FAIA • Frederick A. Bland, FAIA
1992 Earl Flansburgh, FAIA • John Peter Barie, AIA • Leonard Jacobson, FAIA
1990 Frank D. Nemeth, AIA • Eric A. Chung, FAIA • Melvin Brecher, FAIA
1989 Peter Forbes, FAIA • Steven L. Einhorn, AIA
1988 Phillip W. Dinsmore, FAIA • James Kingsland, AIA • Bruce S. Fowle, FAIA
1987 Richard Bergmann, FAIA • Howard N. Horii, FAIA • Stephen P. King, AIA
1986 Roger Yee, AIA • Paul Rudolph, FAIA • Elliot Willensky, FAIA
1985 Der Scutt, FAIA • Herbert Beckhard, FAIA • Mildred Schmertz, FAIA • Robert M. Kliment, FAIA
1984 Frank C. Marcellino, AIA • Alan Ritchie, AIA • Herbert L. Smith, AIA
1983 Danforth W. Toan, FAIA • William J. Conklin, FAIA • Douglas Brenner, AIA
1982 Walter F. Wagner, Jr., FAIA • Malcolm Holzman, FAIA • A. Eugene Kohn, FAIA
1981 John H. Burgee • Robert A. M. Stern, FAIA • William El Pedersen, FAIA
1980 Harry C. Wolf, FAIA • Gerald Allen, AIA • Charles G. Hilgenhurst, FAIA • William H. Livingston, AIA • F. Thomas Schmitt, AIA
1979 John Morris Dixon, FAIA • M. Paul Friedberg, FASLA • Hamilton Smith, FAIA
1977 Richard Foster, FAIA • Hugh Hardy, FAIA


Photos from past Tucker Design Awards

2010 Gallery